Sean O’Brien Re-Elected Teamsters District 8 President

Sean O’Brien, the Teamsters’ retired Secretary-Treasurer who has criticized Ryan’s dealings with the Teamsters Union, was re-elected as President of the Teamsters District 8. He defeated opponent Jay LaPaglia with 67 percent of the vote to LaPaglia’s 31 percent.

The election was held at the Teamsters 842 convention in Kansas City.

“I am thrilled that our members chose me to serve them as their Teamsters Union President,” said O’Brien. “I am determined to do everything in my power to make our Teamsters Union stronger, more profitable and more united. I am humbled by the trust the members of District 8 have placed in me to lead this great organization, and will never let them down.”

The Teamsters 842 is the Teamsters Local 842 based in Memphis, Tennessee. It is the largest Teamsters unit in the United States.

With the election of Sean O’Brien as Teamsters President District 8.

Ryan faces federal charges related to his associations with the mob.

Teamsters President James Hoffa spoke out earlier in this story.

I hope that Sean O’Brien wins to head the Teamsters in Washington.

Sean O’Brien, a Hoffa critic, leaves union

Leave a Comment